Description of the IwsmF Transition Model

Part 1: Global Voter Transitions

Individual Data

In case of split ticket vote (party / candidate) cumulated splitting tables (over all available elections and areas) from official statistics are used, whereupon the 1992 developed so-called "Markov" model is applied. With this model a net transition table without nonvoters can be reconstructed from two splitting tables, definitely being better than any recall, even in case of a party changing the camp. In the one vote case symmetrizised polling tables (combination between present and past voting decision, without nonvoters) are cumulated over as many elections and areas as possible. The original recall is definitely not appropriate because of partly massive bias.

Reconstruction of Individual Transition Behavior with Aggregate Data

Starting point is the factual electoral behavior of all areas in % of the voting-age citizens for the present and past election. A nonvoter plus / minus initially is distributed proportionately to the parties according to their past / present election result for every area. Afterwards reduced marginals without nonvoters are calculated, with calculation of provisional (balanced) interior cells following. According to the split ticket or one vote case either the Markov model with splitting data is used, or the polling data are adjusted to the area marginals (with Iterative Proportional Fitting). Then the net transitions between camps are reduced by one fourth and "substituted" by transitions between parties and nonvoters, so that the original marginals add up. Finally the obtained area tables are balanced, the next step makes use of their marginals reduced by the stable voters.

Recapitulation: The procedure outlined above substantially means, that moderately unsatisfied voters vote and defect to some party of the same camp, whereas heavily unsatisfied voters either don't vote at all (approx. 25%) or vote and defect to some party of the opposite camp (approx. 75%). The probabilities of going to the polls in no way are defined arbitrarily, but result from comprehensive empirical tests with the spectrum of all possible nonvoting probabilities.

The correlation model (Thomsen model without logit transformation and with crude binary choice) is used to estimate the interior cells, based on reduced marginals (by the stable voters) as outlined at the end of the first passage above. For every area an independent estimation is made, using individual weights for all areas. The weights are optimized in such a manner to minimize the difference between the statistical and individual data estimation. The estimates of crude binary choice aren't consistent and therefore have to be adjusted to the should-be marginals. With these "final" interior cells the calculation of individual net transitions is done as outlined above (again without nonvoters, different for split ticket or one vote). As a quality criterion the relative error is defined, i.e. the ratio sum of all deviations (absolute values, for floating voters only) divided by all floating voters.

Part 2: Voter Transitions for Social Structure and Demography

Individual Data

In principle similar to part 1 symmetrizised cumulated polling data are used, subdivided both into all three-dimensional combinations of characteristic values of religion / race with education with employment / activity (social structure) respectively of sex with marital status with age (demography) and into present and past voting decision (incl. nonvoters).

Reconstruction of Individual Transition Behavior with Aggregate Data

Similar to part 1 the correlation model is used to estimate the interior cells. Basis are, on the one hand, the final interior cell area estimations (removed stable voters added again) as marginal 1 and on the other hand subdivided (cumulated micro-)census data (as with individual data) as marginal 2 for all areas, always in % of the voting-age citizens. Further proceeding is formally identical to part 1 up to adjusting the crude binary choice to the marginals 1 and 2. These "final" interior cells now are compared with the adjusted polling data (to marginals 1 and 2 of the particular area). As a quality criterion the sum of all deviations (absolute values) is defined. Voting behavior for social structure respectively demography alone results from summing up the related categories of stable and floating voters.

Beschreibung des IwsmF-Wanderungsmodells

Teil 1: Wählerwanderungen global

Individualdaten

Beim Wahlrecht mit Listen- und Kandidatenpräferenz werden die von der amtlichen Statistik bereitgestellten und über alle vorhandenen Wahlen und Gebiete kumulierten Splitting- bzw. Panaschiertabellen benutzt, wobei das 1992 entwickelte sog. "Markov"-Modell zur Anwendung kommt, mit dem aus zwei Splitting- oder Panaschiertabellen eine saldierte Wanderungstabelle ohne Nichtwähler rekonstruiert werden kann, die auch beim Lagerwechsel einer Partei eindeutig besser ist als jede Rückerinnerung. Beim Einstimmenwahlrecht werden aus Befragungen stammende symmetrisierte Tabellen für die Kombination zwischen aktueller und früherer Wahlentscheidung, jeweils ohne Nichtwähler, über möglichst viele Wahlen und Gebiete kumuliert. Die originale Rückerinnerung ist wegen z.T. massiver Verzerrungen definitiv nicht geeignet.

Rekonstruktion des individuellen Wanderungsverhaltens mit Aggregatdaten

Ausgangspunkt ist das faktische Wählerverhalten aller Teilgebiete in % der Wahlberechtigten für die aktuelle und die frühere Wahl. Ein Plus oder Minus an Nichtwählern wird für jedes Teilgebiet zunächst auf die Parteien prozentual entsprechend ihrem alten bzw. neuen Wahlergebnis verteilt, anschließend werden reduzierte Randverteilungen ohne Nichtwähler berechnet und mit diesen vorläufige (saldierte) Innenfelder berechnet. Je nach Wahlrecht wird dazu entweder das Markov-Modell mit Splitting-/Panaschierdaten benutzt, oder es werden die Befragungsdaten an die Teilgebietswerte mit dem Iterative Proportional Fitting angepaßt. Danach werden die Wanderungssalden zwischen den Lagern um ein Viertel reduziert und, damit die ursprünglichen Randverteilungen wieder stimmen, durch Wanderungen zwischen Parteien und Nichtwählern "ersetzt". Zum Abschluß werden die so gewonnen Teilgebietstabellen noch saldiert, in den nächsten Schritt gehen dann um die Stammwähler reduzierte Randverteilungen ein.

Zur Rekapitulation: Die beschriebene Vorgehensweise bedeutet inhaltlich, daß die mäßig unzufriedenen Wähler zur Wahl gehen und zu einer Partei innerhalb des gleichen Lagers wechseln, die stärker unzufriedenen Wähler ca. zu 25% nicht zur Wahl gehen und ca. zu 75% zu einer Partei des anderen Lagers wechseln. Die Wahrscheinlichkeiten, zur Wahl zu gehen, sind nicht willkürlich definiert, sondern das Ergebnis umfangreicher empirischer Tests mit dem Spektrum aller möglichen Wahrscheinlichkeiten, nicht zur Wahl zu gehen.

Zur Schätzung der Innenfelder wird das Korrelationsmodell (Thomsen-Modell ohne Logittransformation und mit crude binary choice) verwendet. Grundlage sind die um die Stammwähler reduzierten Randverteilungen vom Ende des vorvorigen Absatzes. Für jedes Teilgebiet wird dabei eine unabhängige Schätzung durchgeführt, in die alle Teilgebiete jeweils mit individuellen Gewichten eingehen. Die Gewichte werden so optimiert, daß die statistische Schätzung minimal von der Schätzung mit Individualdaten abweicht. Die Schätzungen des crude binary choice sind nicht konsistent und werden deshalb stets an die Soll-Randverteilungen angepaßt. Mit diesen "endgültigen" Innenfeldern wird nun - wiederum ohne Nichtwähler - die oben schon skizzierte je nach Wahlrecht unterschiedliche Berechnung individueller Wanderungssalden durchgeführt, als Gütekriterium wird der relative Fehler benutzt, d.h. der Quotient aus der Summe der Abweichungsbeträge (aber nur für die Wechselwähler) und allen Wechselwählern.

Teil 2: Wählerwanderungen für Sozialstruktur und Demografie

Individualdaten

Benutzt werden prinzipiell ähnlich wie in Teil 1 symmetrisierte und kumulierte Befragungsdaten, aufgegliedert sowohl nach allen dreidimensionalen Kombinationen der Merkmalsausprägungen von Religion / Race mit Bildung mit (Erwerbs-)Tätigkeit (Sozialstruktur) bzw. von Geschlecht mit Familienstand mit Alter (Demografie) als auch nach aktueller und früherer Wahlentscheidung (incl. Nichtwählern).

Rekonstruktion des individuellen Wanderungsverhaltens mit Aggregatdaten

Zur Schätzung der Innenfelder wird wie in Teil 1 das Korrelationsmodell verwendet. Grundlage sind zum einen die endgültigen Innenfelder-Teilgebietsschätzungen (vorher abgezogene Stammwähler wieder hinzugefügt) als Randverteilung 1 und zum anderen wie bei den Individualdaten aufgegliederte Volkszählungs- oder kumulierte Mikrozensusergebnisse als Randverteilung 2 für alle Teilgebiete, stets in % aller Wahlberechtigten. Die weitere Vorgehensweise ist formal identisch wie in Teil 1 bis zur Anpassung des crude binary choice an die Randverteilungen 1 und 2. Diese "endgültigen" Innenfelder werden nun mit der Anpassung der Befragungsdaten an die Randverteilungen 1 und 2 des jeweiligen Teilgebiets verglichen, als Gütekriterium wird die Summe der Abweichungsbeträge benutzt. Das reine Wählerverhalten für Sozialstruktur bzw. Demografie ergibt sich durch einfache Summierung der zugehörigen Kategorien von Stamm- und Wechselwählern.